Hello friends and listeners,

Our 5th record, Surrexit (Latin meaning arise, or up from below), has been mixed, mastered and sent to distribution. This 9 track album of mostly Easter music was a long time coming; it was also one of the most enjoyable and easy records we've ever made. It features new performers and writers: Josh Sandoz of the Saint Mark's Compline Choir, Jessica Dobson of Deep Sea Diver, Noah Star Weaver of Wonderful/United State of Electronica. There's also a thumping house version of 'Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee'. The record is soaked in delight and acceptance and optimism--not our usual themes, but where many of us find ourselves in life.

Consider Mary's song of praise from Luke, the 'Magnificat', with a Latin hook and two additional scandalous words that might have prevented the Crusades (hyperbolic perhaps).

You'll find more than a few new and bizarre moments, and the usual massive synths, ambient mashups, and suggestive theologies. We truly believe this could be one of your favorite records of the year.

The Opiate Mass project has always been a labor of love. Our motivation is to make meaningful, sacred music that we want to hear. We've accepted that our craft and audience are a small and intimate pair. I think a bit of our long break between records was a desire to find our desire once again; to realize that we create because we have to. Perhaps you can relate.

That being said, if you would like to support us financially and get a print of the stunning cover art, we are due to upgrade mics, our audio workstation, and license additional software so we can mix, record, and share remotely. Become an Executive Producer of Surrexit by gifting us $50+ USD through PayPal; as a thank you:

Here is the PayPal link: http://paypal.me/surrexit

Here is the cover art:

"Through Darkness" by Skye Harvey | graphic design by Joel Eby

Track list:

  1. Introit
  2. The Hymn of Joy (Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee)
  3. Magnificat
  4. Shekinah
  5. Conserva Me, Domine
  6. I Am Your Body In The World
  7. Alleluia! Jesus Is Risen; Earth and All Stars
  8. Exsultet
  9. Per Christum Dominum Nostrum

Surrexit is available to download/stream (and all the other usual services):

BandCamp | Spotify | Apple Music | SoundCloud

Finally, a thank you and recognition of these fine folks who contributed time and talent to the making of the album:

Lacey Brown, Talitha Bullock, Matt Chism, Ryan Davis, Joe Day, Jessica Dobson, Joel Eby, Scott Erickson, Ben Fowler, Jen Grabarczyk-Turner, Skye Harvey, Amy Kramer, Doug Krebs, Peter Mansen, Ryan Marsh, Amy Oates, Loyalty Quabner, Shannon Roche, Josh Sandoz, Tara Ward, Zadok Wartes, Hayden Wartes, Noah Star Weaver, Matthew Whitney

Many blessings to you and yours this Easter/Pentecost season. Teach us how to love each other, lift us to the joy divine.

The Opiate Mass, June 2019

Email | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook